Tags

, , , , ,

Recently I was speaking to a friend who is bailing out of this very dark blue state and she gave me a laundry list of Bad Things leading to her need to escape when she said, “And another thing, everybody normalizes the abnormally spooky things!” That caught my attention on account of the fact that, aren’t all spooky things abnormal? Isn’t that the very definition of a spooky thing? Never mind.

Anyway, she is quite right. We have Bigfoot roaming around, UFO’s, DB Cooper and his lost money, many mysterious disappearances, ghostly places, and disembodied feet washing up on the beach. (Fortunately I’ve never encountered any feet, but the thought of it does cross my mind every time I’m out beach combing.)

Hubby and I were out riding our bikes on a beautiful spring day when we discovered a spooky old WW2 bunker we’ve never seen before. A bit comical because we’ve been roaming around in this area for some 50 years. This particular bunker simply wasn’t there a few years ago, which of course is impossible. It’s a pile of overgrown ruins at this point. Unless someone put it there in an elaborate prank just to make us think we are losing our minds, it’s been right there for a very long time.

I did enjoy the “living roof.” That is almost entirely plant matter. I would hesitate to walk on it on account of there being nothing structural to support it at all, but it was very pretty.

Speaking of “normalizing spooky things,” we’ve had quite a strategic nightmare attempting to schedule a weekend getaway. Forget the weekend, everybody is suddenly out and about. I kid you not, we had to sneak ourselves in between a paranormal conference and a UFO convention. I completely ignore such things and assume these are all marketing ploys. Something interesting about it all however, everybody’s looking for something supernatural. They are really hoping for a close encounter of the bigfoot kind. Or perhaps some aliens? Personally I don’t see how any self respecting alien would chose to land here in the 9th circuit of hell, but I guess that’s beside the point.

Anyway I just want to say yes, it is spooky here and we do normalize it. I tend to blame the weather, but we can blame the politics, too. What I blame the most is our separation, our disconnection from the genuine and truly spiritual. When I say “our separation,” I simply refer to the sheer number of “nones” in this area, people who insist they are unaffiliated with any religious beliefs. With all good grace here, there are actually so many “religious beliefs” and affiliations going on, it sometimes spooks me.