Tags

, , , , ,

True story, I’m telling you! I have to be very careful and do my best to always use my indoor face least it get permanently stuck in some kind of awkward scowl. I don’t think wrinkles have anything to do with gravity, they are just caused by a lifetime of rolling your eyes, raising your eyebrows, and the strain of not giving people that mom-look.

Seriously, you’re going to pour all that shampoo down the toilet?! You’re like, 67 years old now! Not sure why I always pick that magic number in my head, but I constantly have to remind myself that 67 is mature and grown, therefore adulting is required.

These are scars left over from being the eldest child in a toxic world. Act like you’re incapable and incompetent and it’s not your fault and I’ll probably get sucked in, I’ll take the bait, at least for a few moments.

We are living in this world where “adulting” is actually a thing. Like, people want stickers and awards and constant admiration for doing it! It’s perceived as being so unusual, so burdensome, it’s now some kind of virtue. Grown people will actually announce, “I showed up on time,” as if your job is to go stick a little red star on their ice cream chart. Good news, now if nobody bites anyone this week, we just might get to have ice cream on Friday!

This is the easy part too, because running in the background of life is also this keen awareness of things happening on a global scale just outside your line of vision, war in the Ukraine, potential vaccine injuries, people now lining up for their forth booster, a huge addiction epidemic, homelessness everywhere, and nobody being held accountable for anything, ever.

I completely understand why one might just want to run off, disengage with humanity, and become a light house keeper on a deserted rock way out in the ocean somewhere. The struggle is real.