Tags

, , , , , ,

Violet had some interesting comments on the “Hatin on Wimmin” thread that are really worthy of an entire post, so all in good humor, here goes.

Violet begins with:

“….you have a remarkably poor opinion of women, and a faulty understanding of how society can best function. All because you’ve allowed yourself to fall into by a very male-centred belief system…”

There’s a logical fallacy written into this. If women are really such nimwits as to accidentally “fall into a very male centered belief system,” then surely we should probably not be running the world, right? I mean these words imply women have a lack of critical thinking skills, the inability to make good decisions, and are easily deceived. How ironic, because that is very close to a rather misogynistic caricature of Eve held by some religionists.

If I have accidentally stumbled into a den of wolves and rather naively allowed myself to be deceived into a supporting a very male centered belief system, then I should probably not try to cross the street by myself, let alone attempt world domination.

I proceeded to object and declare, “I exist in a very female centered belief system.”

I did not mean that Christianity is a female centered belief system, I meant that I embrace such a belief system and walk that way in the world. I am keenly aware that being female I enjoy the fruits of Christian values. The virtues embraced by Christianity greatly benefit women. Love, marriage, courtship, charity, even chivalry sometimes. That is why here in the Western world in the year 2015, I am blessed to exist a bit like a fairy princess trilling to the forest creatures all day. That’s really not a joke. Women don’t fare so well in many places around the world and we rarely have, throughout most of human history.

Violet disagreed and implied Christianity is sexist,

A male god in three male persons. A holy book written by men about mainly male characters, with the occasional supporting female role, usually causing the male main character to misbehave. Religious structures of 42,000 denominations with almost exclusively male leaders. Teachings often encouraging women to stay silent and be submissive. This is female-centred in what way?

So, “A male god in three male persons.” That can be a very difficult concept for people to wrap their brains around, so I empathize. I understand it, I totally get it, I feel God in every ounce of my being. Trying to explain it however, gets a bit amusing. I often say,  “God is not people! He is a person…..in three parts.” Yes, I know, even when I type those words I am aware of how difficult it is to make people understand. God is a concept that is alien to our brains. He is bigger than our ability to fully perceive Him.

As to maleness, how sad that today in the world we assume that means anti-woman. When I think of men, I think of fathers loving their children, I think of husbands laying down their lives protecting wives, I think of sons lovingly caring for their mothers as they prepare to leave the world. The concept of a male God is not anti-woman at all. The love fathers can have for their daughters is pretty profound and in return fathers can be a daughter’s whole world, our entire universe. This is the opposite of being anti-female. I cannot imagine a more pro-woman person than a father, than our Father.

A holy book written by men about mainly male characters, with the occasional supporting female role, usually causing the male main character to misbehave…

No. That is a caricature, a misconception. The women of the bible are awesome. Some are rather evil in their own right, no supporting role required. Some are real warriors. Some are humble and full of grace. The depth and dimension of the women of the bible, so well-preserved and told to us today, is really rather remarkable. I see aspects of my own self in many of those women, aspects of my own character that many men of today cannot even see clearly enough to portray in a work of fiction. For a book allegedly written by men, wow, those were some insightful men! Men with a rather profound understanding of women, women who were allegedly so insignificant in those days, we were hardly worth studying, let alone observing for long periods of time.

No men wrote the bible, Violet, not really. Scripture was Divinely inspired. I don’t think we could duplicate a work of literature to rival the bible today, even with access to computers, a team of psychologists, and the very best fiction writers, mathematicians, and poets on hand.  Men of today can’t even fully understand the character of many women in the bible. They are left attempting to translate such women through their own eyes, using their own male defined perceptions. Some do quite well and come very close, others not so much.

Besides, what were a bunch of misogynistic Bronze Age goat herders doing writing about women anyway? The fact that there are so many women in the bible, so well preserved today and captured in such dimension, is really rather profound.

“Religious structures of 42,000 denominations with almost exclusively male leaders..”

There are a lot of denominations, aren’t there? Such is the nature of human beings. That actually speaks to Divine intervention too, as in Christianity has survived for thousands of years in spite of the best efforts of so many of us Christians to tear it apart. Nearly all of those slightly different styles of worship and tradition are still bound together by one thing however, a belief in Jesus Christ.

Teachings often encouraging women to stay silent and be submissive. This is female-centred in what way?

Bit tongue in cheek here, but women are people, often unquiet people, even Christian women. It is rare that you will ever find this caricature of quiet, obedient, subservient women, acting like doormats.  I’m sure there are some cults and some abusive situations, but women in general are rarely silent for long. As to submission, I’ve written volumes and I will probably write volumes more. It goes back to the idea of authority. If one perceives all authority with negative eyes, as an exploitative and abusive thing, then you will not understand submission and you will resist. However, if you have felt the love of the Father, or a father, or even a husband, surrendering all to such love is simply natural and joyous.

Those were really good comments Violet, and I appreciate the opportunity to address them all as best I can.

Free-Vintage-Valentine-Image-GraphicsFairy