Tags

, , , , , ,

I really like what Jordan Peterson once said when asked about believing in God. He said in part “I try to live as if God were real.” He got a lot of flack for saying that, but I sure appreciated it. The world is plumb full of people who say they believe things but proceed to live as if they don’t. A pastor once said, “I try to live not as if heaven were my final destination, but my internal reality right now.”

Both of those quotes speak to the fact that beliefs are fickle. What can I say, we are just kind of flaky. What’s even worse then being a flake, is gaining new insights and wisdom and refusing to change our beliefs to accommodate new information. So you know, with all good grace here, we’re supposed to be flaky. Our beliefs are supposed to be somewhat fickle and subject to change. That just means that what we claim to believe isn’t really the most important part, it’s how we internalize those beliefs and how we live them out that tells the story.

The church traditionally has had a hard time with this notion. Come to think of it, so has secular society. Here we are living in times of litmus tests and cancel culture, this never ending parade of demands for ideological purity and belief declarations in all relationships. Naturally there is nothing wrong with seeking some like mindedness, I’m just saying beliefs are really fickle so if that’s your foundation, it’s like trying to build something on sinking sand.

I’ve lived long enough that I’ve watched extreme progressives become extreme conservatives. And I’ve watched some extremists become so open minded their brains done fell out. Sadly, I’ve also watched some professing Christians well admired by others, turn out to have been pedophiles of the worst sort for decades. And thankfully I’ve also seen a few late staged chronic addicts recover and find hope where the was no hope.

It should not be breaking news to anyone that politicians can be quite fickle. One moment they are professing their idealistic beliefs and the next moment they are selling you out for some lucrative subsidies.

I suspect part of the reason why the institutional church has had a hard time with confronting the fact that human beliefs are not necessarily truth is because it pulls the foundation out from under you. It makes it hard to count on things. It’s scary, uncharted territory. I see this truth reflected in some of the people who roam the internet, attempting to larp out the Spanish Inquisition and slay all the heretics. They are a vile bunch, but right beneath the service is all this fear.

Kind of amusing, a bunch of reformed cage stage Calvinists were recently attacking both Catholics and people who were abused in the church and are now busy deconstructing their faith. I found myself a bit curious, I mean what was the entire reformation if not a massive deconstruction?! For the record one should never say such things out loud. Oops.

There is a group right now arguing against the notion that “God is love” since love is a vague concept and can be interpreted in so many squishy ways. Lord in your mercy protect us from the scary squish! Of course one issue with insisting that God is not love is that you outright contradict the Bible, the Bible being one of your more solid foundations in which to lean on. I can empathize however, in a world gone mad everyone scrambles to try to find something solid on which to place our feet.

I suspect we are supposed to live in this state of unease and discomfort, this tension. I mean, one reason why Jesus is called our rock is because we are going to be needing a rock in the first place. If life was neat and tidy and what people believed remained constant (and stagnant) than you could just put your faith exclusively in the material and physical instead.