Tags

, , , , ,

Not that I have any power here, but I shall bang my gavel anyway and insist that we completely eliminate the term “moral failure” from our vocabulary. That term has always been a huge red flag for me. It’s a lie wrapped in another lie. For example, whatever happened was not “moral” and it was not a “failure.” By an act of your own will you happened to achieve the precise opposite, an immoral success.

I also wish to eradicate the notion that one can be “suffering” from a moral failure. For example, “we knew he had suffered from a moral failure,” as if someone had just been happily walking down the street and accidentally fell into an open manhole and are now suffering, through no fault of their own.

Generally those who leave to, “spend more time with their families” take with them a golden parachute of some sort, generally somewhere in the millions. Mission accomplished, apparently. You ain’t suffering, that wasn’t moral, and you succeeded in your mission.

It’s language you really only hear used by the rich and powerful, con artists, pedophiles, politicians……and for some weird reason, the church. Why in the world would anybody in the church adopt this kind of language?

On a lighter note, we did once have a local late stage chronic alcoholic who has since passed away. I was fond of him on account of the fact that he had a great sense of humor, at least when I crossed paths with him. He used to say that very thing, “Last night I suffered from a powerful moral failure and I’m now prepared to do it again.” That’s honest, that’s genuine, and it stands in stark contrast to the superficiality of all the fancy people.