Tags

, , , , , , ,

Beware of what you put into your body…… and into your brain. We are being brain washed every moment of our lives. The good news is, we can gain control of it, we can learn how to brain wash our own selves, how to turn off the negative and increase the positive.

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” -Philippians 4:8

I have absolutely polluted my own brain, first just by being a hapless witness to way too much of the world’s brutality, but then from entertainment and what we used to call “news.” God has spent the last couple of decades plucking that out of me, like those tiny thorns that get embedded in your fingers that you can’t see. I put a half-hearted effort into protecting my own kids, trying to convince them of the truth behind “garbage in, garbage out.” Lot’s of eye rolling and “oh mom,” and that was just from my husband! J/k

But honestly, we think we’re tough, we think we’re smart, we think we know it’s not real, so it won’t impact us, but it does. It worms its  way in down deep.

It’s a bit funny, we recently went camping on a dark and moonless night and naturally I had to trek half a mile to the bathroom, repenting of every scary movie I’d every seen. Actually, I was walking quite confidently, fearlessly, trusting in the Lord and hardly thinking of Freddy Krueger or Jason at all. When I hit the harsh light of the restroom, what confronted me? A teen ager in a Jason mask. I laughed.  He was quite delighted with the fun he was having and perhaps disappointed my terror failed to materialize.

I do not wish to shame anyone here, but underneath it all I am once again reminded that we are one sick society that idolizes and hero worships fictional mass murders we’ve consumed as “entertainment,” and then teaches our children to do the same. I too am a product of the times, I recognize that hockey mask and it’s cult following immediately, but it wasn’t until much later that I learned to question what I was idolizing, what those mascots really meant and what they represented.

Here’s a well done video that helps to capture the essence of the problem.

 

