Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sporadic, I love that word. Well, not really, I much prefer order to my chaos, but I do love the definition of “sporadic,” occurring at irregular intervals or only in a few places; scattered or isolated. Patchy. Spotty. Odd. Separate. Unconnected.

Yep, with all good gallows humor, sporadic I often am and not really by choice either. I am rather encouraged to discover that sporadic comes from the Greek “spore,” as in to sow, to scatter seeds, spores. In biology it is even better, a spore is “a reproductive body of an organism, capable of giving rise to a new individual, directly or indirectly.”

So perhaps I can salvage something good from the word “sporadic,” as in it seems to be highly connected to motherhood, and  dare I say it, also to being a member of the Body of Christ. What are we doing if not directly or indirectly pointing people to the One who does indeed give rise to a new individual?

The Body of Christ is actually an organism.

I suppose it is somewhat humbling to think of oneself as a spore. I mean mushrooms have spores for crying out loud, and who wants to be a mushroom? I should much prefer to be a dragon slayer or even a fisher of men. What is a spore but a little speck of dust carried on the wind? Ah, but then I am reminded of Who and What the wind really is and that does change things, exponentially.

I also take comfort in the fact that spores can be a real pain in the neck. They are usually invisible, they spread like wild fire, and before you know it, you have the most elegant black mold growing down your ceiling. Moss so terrifies my husband, he won’t even allow it in a flower arrangement, least a spore escape and land on our roof and than the whole battle is lost. Spores have been known to make grown men shriek in complete despair.

Self identifying as a spore for the Kingdom of Heaven is beginning to carry a certain amount of appeal….

Anyway, my posting could grow even more sporadic than usual over the next week or so, as I will be out of town on a few occaisons and out of wi/fi range on a few others. My response to comments could become even more delayed and neglectful than one has already come to expect. I’m not really ignoring anyone, it is just that my appreciation for your words (or your complaints,) may be sporadically delayed.

 

spores

 

