Tags

, , , , ,

All in good humor here, but insanitybytes. At some point I got so used to be called crazy, I just embraced it. Wut-ever. Crazy good, crazy in love, crazy enough to just not care about the favor or disfavor of people anymore.

As if to prove my dysfunction, I recently read an article on Huff n Puff. Obviously people who read articles from Huff n Puff have issues. So naturally, while reading Huff n Puff, I found out all the things I hold near and dear being diagnosed as sociopathy.

So, I guess sociopaths R us.

Let me pause one moment and be serious here. Friends who point me to articles like this, well, they aren’t exactly friends are they? I mean, can you not see the inherent disrespect and contempt lurking behind, “here’s a really good article I think you would find helpful.” An article that quite irrationally declares I’m a sociopath who hates people? Say what?

So here is the offending article,  “Has Evangelical Christianity Become Sociopathic?”

A sociopath is, “a person with a personality disorder manifesting itself in extreme antisocial attitudes and behavior and a lack of conscience.” I actually suffer from the precise opposite of sociopathy, a love for people and a conscience. (Although they might have me on the anti-social part. It has occurred to me I may have issues there, especially while pondering digging my secret underground bunker and building a moat around my house…..)

So, now that we’ve established I’m crazy, let’s take it a step farther, I’m an expert on crazy, a professional. Credentialed. I know crazy. Crazy is deciding gender is fluid so you dress your six-year-old child up like a girl and start telling him he needs hormone therapy and surgery. That’s not only crazy, it’s cruel. Crazy is telling women that the path to female empowerment is having the opportunity to kill your unborn children. Crazy is believing marriage can be whatever you want it to be, same-sex, 3 people, even sologamy if you’d like. Crazy is when we start splicing DNA to make designer babies for those 3 way marriages. Crazy is when we insist that people who have been abused and struggle with sexual issues, are just born that way. Crazy is when  we start calling pedophilia a lifestyle choice.

Not only are those things crazy, they aren’t loving. They are not kind. They are not life affirming. They are not sane. They are actually outright cruel.

There’s a whole lot of crazy in the world. There’s even some in the Christian world. However, it’s not even close to accurate to call Franklin Graham a hater of immigrants when he runs one of the largest charity organizations and actually travels the world meeting the needs of people. When Ebola broke out, there was Franklin Graham and there were his doctors risking their very lives to serve people.

Pastor Roger Jimenez of Verity Baptist Church is a small time pastor who made an off the cuff remark on the internet that got blown up, taken out of context, and spread far and wide. Kim Higginbotham, “a minister’s wife,” same story, but what of it? So? These people could both be rabid haters and sociopaths to boot for all I know, but they are simply people, relatively little people, not the epitome of faith and Christianity itself.

And certainly they are not justification for defining evangelicals as sociopaths possessing the characteristics of “Untruthfulness and insincerity, superficial charm and good intelligence, lack of remorse or shame, poor judgment and failure to learn by experience, pathologic egocentricity and incapacity for love, unresponsiveness in general interpersonal relations, specific loss of insight, and general poverty in major affective reactions (in other words, appropriate emotional responses).”

Let’s look at some more of the words in the article describing evangelicals, shall we? “self-righteous, self-aggrandizing,” “hatred and abuse,” ” insincerity, shamelessness, poor judgment and pathological egocentricity.”

Well, call me crazy, but I’m just not feeling the love here, nor the common sense. In fact, I’m not even sensing a firm grasp on reality.

Also, I definitely need to get some new friends. You guys are so not invited in my bunker.

 

truth

