Tags

, , , , , ,

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. -Philippians 4:8

I really enjoy God’s perfect synchronicity at work, the surprise and mystery of it all. I am all about signs and wonders, as in literally signs with words written on them. There’s nothing particularly unusual about signs themselves, until they come into your line of vision at precisely the right time and say exactly what you need to hear. You can do the math, you can calculate the odds, but the number of things that must happen in order for that to occur is simply astounding and soon leaves the realm of “random” and enters the realm  of mysterious and supernatural.

whningI kid you not, yesterday I was driving, lamenting, oh Lord this is so not what I want I want to be doing, miserable, boring, when suddenly this van cut me off, pulled in front of me and there on the back was this giant “no whiners” sign. Cracked me up! I was laughing quite delightedly and I think it helped to clear the road because a couple of people looked at me strangely and pulled away.

Sometimes  signs can be phrases that get stuck in my head and start playing themselves out in real life. Last week our pastor spoke of dark rooms. If you open a door, peek inside and see it’s dark, close the door. It’s dark in there. Like, duh! Made me laugh, and “close the door, it’s dark in there” got stuck in my head. Sure enough, everywhere I go I run into people saying that precise same thing.

The other day my husband was looking under a house and he quips, I’m not going in there, it’s dark down there. A lady I look after says, just close the door, it’s dark in there. A guy actually came up trying to sell tickets to dark rooms, underground tours, and I think I startled him because I said,  close the door, it’s dark in there!

It can be really hard to hang onto Philippians 4:8 in the modern world. You dare not turn on a television, or answer the phone, look out the window, answer the door….yea though I walk through the shadow of a million dark rooms. So, so many dark rooms. It’s enough to rot your soul and it is vitally important that we actively guard our hearts, as in you have to make it happen. Sometimes you have to just close the door, it’s dark in there.

 

wild things

 

