Tags

, , , , , ,

No shame but mine. I must, forsooth, be forced, To give my hand, opposed against my heart, Unto a mad-brain rudesby, full of spleen, Who wooed in haste and means to wed at leisure. -The Taming of the Shrew

Forsooth is a fun word, it means “truth,” “indeed,” “self-evident,” for “realz.” In modern times however, it has come to signify disbelief. We are so, so skeptical these days, cynical, disbelieving. In the olden days,  we would cry,  “forsooth” and it meant truth. Today “forsooth” means a lie, a deception, disbelief. That’s quite a turn around, a 180 in fact, evidence of some major cultural changes.

I am also a product of this environment, with perhaps a few extra layers of deep cynicism and skepticism. I sometimes joke about how I could be going along with my donkey one day, an angel could appear in my path, and I’d probably kick the donkey a few times, perhaps start interrogating the angel. Sure you’re from the Lord, sure you are. I hear that all the time. Also, my donkey speaks to me…..

Having the eyes to see, to listen to the Lord, learning to discern, is not so easy in the modern world of Skeptics R us. Especially accepting the good things on face value. We tend to have major trust issues. For perfectly valid reasons, I might add.

Forsooth, I often listen to the Lord. This can get me into trouble with all kinds of people who believe the Lord never speaks to anyone, and certainly not to you. Well, He does, in a myriad of different ways. Don’t blame me, just go get your own relationship with Him and He’ll reveal Himself to you too, in whatever language you speak.

So out of the blue the Lord told me to go visit this church with a simple task, just pour some love and encouragement over those people. Forsooth, you know those “simple tasks,” that turn out to be more like icebergs with just the tip sticking out of the water? Yep, just like that.

The first time I tried to go, all the lights on my car went out and it was night-time, so I had to turn around. Took a while to get that all fixed, but eventually I was back on the road. The second time I tried to visit, the transmission went out. Took about 2 hours to make what should have been a 20 minute drive back home. I did not arrive to visit the church. So the car finally just gave up the ghost. Took a while to get a new car, but I eventually did, runs great, but lo and behold, on my 3rd attempt to go visit these people, my head lights on the new car went out.

There are some other rather profound stumbling blocks that happened too, but I won’t bore you with all the details.

I started to get the sense that my simple task was not quite so simple, that there appeared to be some kind of grand conspiracy to keep me away, that things were more complex than they appeared. That may well sound crazy, but you’ll just have to trust me there. God was so urgently whispering, go, obey me, yet no matter how hard I tried, I just could not seem to get myself there.

By the time I finally did get myself there, they were down to a handful of survivors, perserverers, I call us. “Faithful clingers,” a phrase designating the resilient core of a church. Our Lord had only 12 of them and He changed the whole world.

So, I have no idea why the Lord asked me to visit, beyond bringing the message, you are loved, you are seen, you have been faithful, and you are known to Him. 

I think the Lord also just wanted to show me the resilence and perservence of those who follow Him. Would God do that just for me? He would indeed. He would deliver me right where I need to be, just to bear witness to something I need to see, for no other reason than to bless me. How great is our God?

No matter the outcome, the Lord never misses a beat, He sees and knows all, and everything serves a purpose in His kingdom. He is trustworthy and faithful, you can count on it.

 

biscuits

