Tags

, , , , ,

Trust the process.  Love is patient. Don’t you just love it when a pastor totally ministers to your soul and they don’t even know it?

God’s perfect synchronicity at work. I have been known to burst out laughing, because sometimes the words have been so aligned with exactly what is going on in my life, it’s just downright comical. This is a real art form, because one must be careful not to make him worry that you might be laughing at him personally. Or at least, I would find that disconcerting. Why is this crazy woman laughing every time I open my mouth? Them words are Divinely inspired, that’s why.

Anyway, Trust the process. Love is patient. Totally my weakness. God isn’t finished with people, it is a process. We must love people right where they are at, because the Lord loved us right where we were at. That’s easy enough with ordinary situations, but I have you tell you, when someone has been trapped in the same perpetual loop of dysfunction for say like, 20 years, my patience starts to wear thin. I get this little twitch going on over my left eyebrow.

This happens a lot in a small town and on the internet sometimes, too. Blasted guy has been playing the same record for 20 years now, it’s starting to sound like a dripping faucet. Drip, drip, drip. I’m so sorry your parents were awful, but you are like, 67 years old now. Get over it.

Ex-wives and ex-husbands are a good one, too. I hear you, you’re bitter about your divorce. I’d have more empathy, but that was like, 25 years ago. Canned food doesn’t even last that long!  Suck it up, buttercup. Things don’t always work out like we want. Move on.

In case you haven’t noticed, I really need to hear trust the process and love is patient, over and over and over again. Actually, I’m fairly patient, but trusting the process? Oh, heck no! Serenity is not my thing. One of my least favorite sayings is, you have to give people time to grow. Well sure, like about six weeks. You got six weeks people, and I want to see some progress.

If anyone else wrestles with these things, something that has really helped me is knowing that Jesus dined with Judas, broke bread with him, knowing full well of the betrayal to come. Jesus totally trusted Judas….to be Judas. He didn’t expect or demand that he be anything else. Judas is Judas and he’s going to Judas.

There’s some Divine acceptance and grace going on there, but also real wisdom. We can forgive, accept, be gracious, but we can do it all with our eyes open, trusting the process, not the person.

What is the process? I really don’t know, but I catch a glimpse of it sometimes, people, places, events, all lined up exactly as they are supposed to be, everyone serving  a vital purpose…..even Judas.

alices adventures

