Tags

, , , , , ,

I loved this story, how to honor your Father, both your earthly one and your heavenly Father, and how to handle grief and tragedy in a way that honors God, that brings Him glory.

The random shooting of this man is just so sad, just pointless violence, and the death of the shooter a few days later, just more darkness. I really appreciate the way this family has managed to look up from their grief and shine a little light for the rest of us. Having a relationship with Jesus Christ makes all the difference, who we are,what we represent, where our hope lies. He changes the whole narrative, He offers us beauty for ashes, He collects our tears in a bottle. And sometimes He allows us to give Him glory and honor even in the midst of our grief.

Cleveland victim’s family: We forgive killer

“The thing that I would take away the most from my father is he taught us about God … how to fear God, how to love God, and how to forgive. Each one of us forgives the killer.

“I believe that God would give me the grace to even embrace this man. And hug him …,” “I just would want him to know that even in his worst state, he’s loved, you know, by God, that God loves him, even in the bad stuff that he did to my dad.”

