Tags

, , , , , ,

this side upBit of a rant here, but I’ve really come to dislike that word “strong.” It’s not really fair to pick on an entire word, to begin to resent the darn thing, but “strong” has begun to take on negative connotations in my mind. I swear, “strong” is what people say to you when you ask them for help and they have absolutely no intention of helping you at all. It’s good you’re so strong.

Pshaw! I wouldn’t be standing on a stool screaming in your office if I were “strong,” you pampered prince of pomposity! Maybe you meant scary? I’ll take scary. Downright terrifying really. You should be frightened…..especially if you try calling me “strong” one more time…..

Then there’s the way people take advantage of you, justify dumping excessive burdens your way, it’s okay, she’s strong, she can handle it. Uh, no. Take care of your own darn stuff.

The only definition of “strong” I’m even willing to entertain at this point is, “highly stimulating to the senses.” That one is still okay. Because of that one little definition, we won’t annihilate the whole word for all of eternity, we’ll just kick it a few times.

It’s a bit comical to try to sell people on the idea of “weak” being far superior to “strong,” because absolutely no one I know in the modern world actually wishes to enthusiastically embrace weakness. Weak means, “liable to break or give way under pressure; easily damaged.” We actually write “fragile” on our priceless packages before we mail them. Trust me, being strong or worse yet, “hardy,” is not such a good thing. Those are the boxes they throw off the truck and kick down the hallway.

If you are a package or a bundle, you want to do everything in your power to get marked “fragile, weak, handle with care, this side up.”

There’s no shame at all in being “weak,” in fact I highly recommend it.

package+v

