Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dalrock again, and several other characters, seem to have launched a war against King Arthur, the Knights of the Round table, and the entire idea of courtly love.

knight 2I can certainly understand why one might want to examine how “courtly love” became equated with morality and what that all means. It is not unlike what we often see today, “I love my latte, I love my shoes,” therefore the things I love are highly moral. This soon becomes, “it’s okay because we’re in love.” Being in love now becomes God’s moral blessing on my relationship, even if it is with a pig, for example. Don’t laugh, a guy was recently charged with animal cruelty and his explanation was that he was in love. That’s an extreme example, but we all carry some aspects of that same short-circuit within us.

In marriage people do the same kind of thing. There is romance here, so it is good, blessed by God, but in the absence of romance… maybe my relationship is all wrong, God doesn’t want this for me, maybe I need a new spouse.…. We often skip the part that suggests, No romance? Get some! Pour some fuel on the fire, make it happen. Or, perhaps in some cases, accept your spouse as the gift they are and go read medieval love poetry and sonnets. Or both. What ever works for you, I am simply saying eros is not morality and the absence of eros is not immorality.

These things are all true.

What I object to is the slander against white knights, the urge to point to them as something shameful, undesirable. In a Christian context that is all wrong, because who is Jesus Christ but our Ultimate White Knight? Our redeemer, our salvation, our rescuer? Jesus Christ is our White Knight and we are called to walk in His foot steps as best we can. To be a Christian is to be a follower of an actual  White Knight.

The objection within some Dalrockian circles revolves around this negative perception of white knights as evidenced by Dalrock’s words, “And yet there is also a reason we use the term white knight to describe men who feel compelled to rescue women from the consequences of their own bad behavior.”

Men or women, that is exactly what Jesus Christ did for us, that is the very nature of grace! Now certainly we alone cannot save anyone, and sometimes  what is best for people is to simply leave them to experiences the consequences of their own actions, HOWEVER, Abiding in the ultimate White Knight, Jesus Christ, is a huge part of the Christian walk.

We are called to love our neighbor, not to proudly walk by declaring, “I’m not your White Knight and the consequences of your own bad behavior sure aren’t my problem.” I don’t see that anywhere in the bible.

Grace has a very reflective nature to it too, so if one is going to insist on perceiving others as totally deserving the consequences of their own behavior, I would not be the least bit surprised if Jesus turned those same eyes on us someday. Unless you wish to have yourself held to that same standard, deserving the consequences of your own bad behavior, I’d be very careful about wishing it upon others.

That’s actually in the bible, Matthew 7:2, “For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.”

Call me crazy, but I’m pretty sure the “consequences of our own behavior,” are death and eternal separation from God.  So people can do all kinds of crazy, wrong-headed things, and still be saved, but one thing I’m pretty certain you can’t do is to actually reject your Redeemer Himself.

Your Redeemer, your  own White Knight, the one who stepped in and rescued YOU.

knight

