Tags

, , ,

Beejai over at River Walk wrote a really cute and charming post called, “Can I have my pigs back?” Click to read the whole thing, it’s quite delightful.

For those who don’t know the story, Jesus encounters this crazy, demon possessed man, and sets him free by driving all his demons into a herd of pigs. The pigs go jumping off a cliff and into the sea, and the man is set free. Now go and tell the others what the Lord has done for you….

I really love that story, the hidden treasures of wisdom to be found within it.  I am also all about the pigs, as in “Oh Lord, we’re going to need a whole lot more pigs…” Somewhat funny, I have groaned that lamentation a few times and God suddenly started giving me pigs. Does God have a sense of humor or what? There must be a dozen pet pigs that have now moved into my neighborhood, pigs I often find munching on my crocuses or knocking over the garbage.

Be careful what you pray for! I jest, in truth it was a very sweet answer to prayer, a reminder I will never leave you or forsake you. God heard my cry, He makes His presence known to me in some very sweet and personal ways. Silly perhaps, but when one has called out to the Lord about having a desperate need for more pigs and suddenly one appears on your front deck, it’s enough to bring tears to your eyes. So there I was laughing and crying over the perfect timing and the arrival of a pig on my front step. All in good fun here, but as you can see, I have some things in common with that man from the region of the Gadarenes.

God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called. In an instant He freed a demon possessed man who had been roaming around the tombs naked and basically said, Guess what? You work for me now. Go and tell the others. 

pig

 

