Tags

, , , , , ,

hitlerAhh, the intertoobz, you really have to have a thick skin and a ton of patience. Communication is hard, frustration levels run high…. and then there’s human nature.

I try to keep my sense of humor, because nowhere else in the world do I have the power to be the “most disgusting person ever and a symbol of everything that’s wrong in the world.” I mean come now, I’m hardly worthy of such venom or such power! I almost wish I was. It would be kind of fun to be an evil alien lizard overlord hellbent on world domination, but the odds are just not in my favor.

Since I am now a fascist tyrant, or at least currently playing one on the intertoobz, there is one bit of teaching that I’d like to disabuse the world of once and for all. Matthew 7:21, “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven will enter.”

You would not believe how many people seem to believe “the will of the Father” has something to do with communion wafers, worship music, skirt lengths, submission to husbands, politics, Christmas decorations,what kind of food you eat, which version of the bible you read, padeobaptism, and having the one true biblical exegesis. The Jewish fathers had some 300 dietary laws alone and I’m starting to believe modern people put the Jewish fathers to shame with our own legalism.

What is the will of the Father? Actually it can be found in many places, but we’ll go with  John 6:40, “For it is my Father’s will that all who see his Son and believe in him should have eternal life….”

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind”…. And believe in His Son. That’s the will of the Father, that none shall perish, that we believe in Jesus Christ, that we love the Lord with everything we’ve got and love our neighbor.

In the ultimate twist of irony, Matthew 7 is actually teaching against a form of legalism, as in “So then, by their fruit you will recognize them.”  The will of the Father is that we know His son. When we know Jesus Christ, the rest falls into place, the details come into focus, the bits and pieces follow,and we are not suddenly lawless, we are actually led within the law, “the law” having absolutely nothing to do with government regulations regarding the growing of cabbages.

