Tags

, , , , ,

I love the parable of the persistent widow to be found in Luke 18:1-8. “And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint..”

The persistent widow has to go before an unjust  judge who doesn’t fear God, has no regard for man, and yet she just keeps showing up and saying, “Avenge me of mine adversary.”

Eventually she wears him down, probably drives him half crazy and so he says, “this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.”

Pray without ceasing, don’t relent, and do not faint and give up. It’s a really good parable for me because it reminds me that justice is worth fighting for. I tend to be unwilling to play games, here’s justice, here’s injustice, now do your job. The world so seldom operates that way, so when it actually works and people do the right thing, it can surprise the heck out of me.  That’s terribly jaded and a bit cynical, but it’s based on experience. Don’t let “experience,” detract you from The Word.

It’s also a good parable because it shows that we can’t wear God down, we can’t annoy Him with our prayers, that He actually asks us to bring our concerns to Him just like the persistent widow did. Over and over again if necessary.

The parable ends with, “Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?”  Persistent, stubborn faith, the kind that shows up every single day and says, past experience be darned, here goes nothing.

violet

