Tags

, , , ,

I really appreciate Literary Life, Rick Wilcox, his many words of wisdom and faith. He left me a comment the other day that I have been  unpacking and chewing on, contemplating.

“The meaningfulness of our lives is measured in faithfulness which always begins with the willingness to engage the world as it is encountered. Ours is not to write the script. It’s simply to be more like Jesus at the end of the day than we were at the beginning.”

Those are wonderful words that really sum up the entire nature of my walk with Jesus Christ. (Well, usually I am walking. All in good humor here, a few times I suspect  He may have actually been dragging me kicking and screaming, but we’ll just call it a “walk” for dignity’s sake.)

“Engaging the world as it is encountered……” Yes indeed, receiving the world as it is and not as we wish it to be. That often brings a great deal of peace to my soul. I really have to trust God and simply receive what He places in my path, with some degree of optimism even. “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”- Romans 8:28  It’s true, He has shown me that over and over again, always whispering, “trust me.” Lean into my words, I mean them.

“Ours is not to write the script…”  Yes.  Out comes, letting go of out comes. I often want to write the story from start to finish and exactly how it’s going to play out in between. Something that really speaks to the kindness of God, a few times He has prepared my soul for what is to come. He has spoken to me in prayer, He has comforted me before I even knew why. He has spoken to me of broken hearts and broken dreams and assured me that even so, all will be well.

That is the God I know, one that never ceases to surprise me, to catch me off guard, to compel me to ask with some wonder and amazement that same question asked in Psalm 8:4, “What is man that You are mindful of him, And the son of man that You visit him?” I have been talking to God for a long time and yet I am still surprised and a bit terrified when He so clearly answers me.

One of my favorite sayings is, “Jesus didn’t come just to get you into heaven, He came to get a bit of heaven into you.”

He did, indeed.

kincade

