Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today I am thinking of bread, the real deal, the kind that fights back when you go to bite into it. The kids at my house used to call this chewy bread, crusty bread, which made it different from your standard loaf of white American bread that just sits there and does nothing.

That is what my girls would lament, “it just sits there and does nothing.” My husband would look at us as if we were all insane, with perhaps the tiniest glint of fear in the back of his eyes somewhere, as if to say, if that bread starts “doing” anything, I am so out of here. If that bread begins dancing, I will flee so fast and abandon my wife and kids to whatever is going on in that kitchen…. 

I however, always understood exactly what they meant. That cheap loaf of white bread just sits there, empty calories staring at you until you just want to pill it up into little balls and make play dough snowman on the side of your plate, so at least it has some substance, some dimension to it.

Someone once praised me, poured on favor by saying, “it’s okay, you’re one of those benign Christians.” They might as well have just punched me in the stomach because the sense of conviction that suddenly washed over me was uncomfortable to say the least. Benign…. like a non cancerous tumor? A meaningless clump of cells serving no observable purpose?

You mean, I am not even dangerous?! I pose no threat at all? I am nothing more than a flat slice of cheap American white bread better used as play dough than actually ingested?

I was quite crestfallen or perhaps crust-fallen, when I realized I was not even trying to be crusty bread or chewy bread, the kind of bread that has some life in it, some fight in it, some substance. The kind of bread that leans into the full power and authority of Jesus Christ and takes Him at his word when He says, “Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.”

Behold! Behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the King of Kings. He does not like His bread soggy, benign, and lifeless.

bread

