Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welp, I’d like to take a moment to thank the Lord for healing me of my heart for people last week.  Yep, feeling pretty much cured of that affliction. Now there’s a huge burden lifted off my shoulders.

“So if the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed!”– John 8:26

I only halfway jest here, I am serious about thanking the Lord. He is so good to me. I don’t have an issue with having a heart for people, I have an issue with cutting my losses and walking away, or I would have an issue if it weren’t for the Lord intervening when appropriate, sometimes daily, as in, drop it and walk.

A bit funny, we used to say that to our dog, drop it and walk. I know what it means, God knows what it means, but few others do. It means stop poking at the dead thing in your path and move forward, we’re on a walk here. Does God speak dog to me? Yep, sometimes.

I’ve just had a long, tough week that required a whole lot of letting go, saying no, and simply allowing people the freedom to crash and burn if they want. In health care that can be really hard because the consequences are so obvious, so catastrophic. So what if I want to sit here refusing my insulin and eating reeses peanut butter cups?

Welp, you’ll die. Very soon. That simple. Quite likely in as slow and painful a way as you can imagine, but maybe you’ll get lucky and go quick. I’m sure not going to be the one to sit here and watch however, I’ve reached my quota as the patron saint of all futility this year and we’re only a week into it.

The Patron Saint of all Futility.  Sounds about right. I have to praise the Lord however, Blessed be His name, because so often those glitches, those things we don’t like about ourselves, He can really use. And sometimes those things we like about ourselves, those things we think are so great? Drop it and walk, it’s actually your flaws I want to make use of today.

Wow.

crazy

