Tags

, , , , , ,

Kind of an interesting discussion has popped up over this article in a couple of different locations. It’s from the WAPO and titled, “Evangelicals should be deeply troubled by Donald Trump’s attempt to mainstream heresy.”

First, let me repeat that. It’s from the WAPO and it speaks of heresy. Let me finish laughing about that irony, catch my breath, and pick myself up off the floor. The WAPO, the mother of all fake news, suddenly decides to school evangelicals about what we should and should not be deeply troubled by? Is this the same WAPO that only a few days ago declared we should be deeply troubled about a Russian attack on a Vermont utility.…and then had to promptly retract the entire story?

Come to think of it, I am really all confused here. I mean in a world full of moral relativism, where truth is totally subjective and one is free to perceive one’s gender any way one wants, how do I even discern what “fake news” is?  We are lost in such convoluted moral ambiguity here I am left thinking, I don’t know if Russians hackers are real or not, do you want them to be? I mean, I’d like to tolerate your world view and if imaginary Russian hackers attacking Vermont makes you feel good, who am I to complain?

But I digress. The truth, the part I am still allowed to cling feebly to, is that many Christians are indeed “deeply troubled” about assorted false teachings, ministers, heresies, politics. We seem to have forgotten the part about, “Let not your heart be troubled.” That’s the bible telling us don’t be troubled. So if WAPO comes along and insists, you SHOULD be deeply troubled, reject that! It’s unbiblical. One might even call it… heresy.

“Let not your heart be troubled.”

Perspective is everything and sometimes I feel a bit disconnected. My life is not filled with theological subtleties, it’s more like encased in bearing witness to blatant evil, unmistakable misery, and endless suffering. Meth addiction, heroin, suicide, mental illness, unemployment, homelessness, outright satanism, despair, death. Lots and lots of death of all kinds, physical, emotional, spiritual. “Let not your heart be troubled.” I give it my darndest.

I envy those who have the time and the luxury to be “deeply troubled,” over some TV evangelist, some  off the wall theology, some odd duck, some alleged heresy. Envy you I do, yes! I want your world! I want to go on facebook and shriek about the “horrors” of Beth Moore and John Piper, but here where I live I am far more likely to burst into tears when the Mormon boys bother to show up and offer to pray because it has been so long, so long, since I have seen anyone willing to publicly speak His name.

To simply speak His name.

To simply speak His name! In public. Where other people might hear you. In my neck of the woods, if  you don’t go to church, it is possible to go years, years I tell you, without once hearing anything at all about Jesus Christ. Complete radio silence. And if you do hear anything about Christians ourselves, it’s going to be exceedingly negative, as in we’re all deluded, insane, oppressors.

The bible is full of warnings about bad theology, false prophets, wolves in sheep’s clothing, and those things are all real enough, I’ve certainly seen them, BUT Jesus also speaks to us of something important in Luke 9:49-50,

“And John answered and said, Master, we saw one casting out devils in thy name; and we forbad him, because he followeth not with us. And Jesus said unto him, Forbid him not: for he that is not against us is for us.”

And again in Mark 9:38-39,

“And John answered him, saying, Master, we saw one casting out devils in thy name, and he followeth not us: and we forbad him, because he followeth not us. But Jesus said, Forbid him not: for there is no man which shall do a miracle in my name, that can lightly speak evil of me.”

We are so comfortable and pampered here in the Western world and often those of us in faith have no idea what it is even like to be any other way. We have the luxury of pointing fingers at other Christians and accusing them of heresy and assorted other evil, without even giving it a second thought. You’re doing it all wrong. Jezebel. Liberal. Heretic. False prophet.

“He that is not against us is for us.” Oh, I can sure testify to the truth of those words playing out, those words in action, right here, right now, in modern times.  His words.

So, full stop here. “Let not your heart be troubled” and “He that is not against us is for us.” Be at peace, be at rest, and in the name of all that is good and golden and Holy, don’t look to the Washington Post to tell you how you should feel.

