Tags

, , , , , ,

“Many Christians Do Not Seem to Know Whose Side They are on or Who the Enemy is”

-from a A Cry For Justice, Jeff Crippen

This was really well said. He speaks of having been a cop and the loyalty, the camaraderie, the sharing of a common enemy was present. He speaks of how, “we were all certain whose side we were on and who the enemy was.” 

After he became a pastor, he noticed “Christians do not seem to be on the same side. They do not recognize the enemy. They have foolishly allowed the enemy to infiltrate them. They are not united and lack a sense of “we all wear the same uniform here and have the same badge.”

“What happened when I became a pastor and busted a bad guy in the church? You all know without me even having to tell the stories — and there were many of them. I felt all alone. No backup. Turns out the supposed comrades of mine were standing with the crook.”

He relates this to the way abuse victims often feel. I’ve seen that play out so many times. It seems as if there is such an unwillingness to confront evil and just name it for what it is.

People who read me probably know I really like Pastor Wilson’s wordsmithery, his books, his way of thinking, but I also know his church stood by a couple of convicted and perhaps repentant sex offenders, while the victims are now no longer there. Try as I might I cannot reconcile that injustice, that outcome, because I’ve seen it play out one too many times. I can follow the reasoning, I can rationalize it, I can forgive even, but it is never going to sit well, it is never going to be forgotten. There is just a stain of injustice that sits there staring at me.

Something I think we always need to be asking ourselves when it comes to victims, how can I come alongside you? What do you need? And name evil for what it is! It is never a case of moral ambiguity or mutual sin or assorted other rubbish.Wrong is wrong. Right is right.

