Tags

, , , , ,

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.” John 10:10

I live in this place that gets dark this time of year, the days grow shorter and sometimes the sun just doesn’t bother to get out of bed at all. Hubby always starts counting down to the winter solstice for me, words of encouragement, we’re almost there and then the days will start getting longer. Well yes, in slow and painful increments, but at least I will know the tide has turned.

There’s a lot of spiritual darkness here, too. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy, boy is that ever the truth. Drugs, addiction, have always been a huge problem, and just seeing people, the Walking Dead as I call them, looking so wiped out, 20-30 years older than they should be, is absolutely heart breaking.

Then there is the homelessness, the despair, and the poverty. The last decade or so has just been a time of such hopelessness. It’s challenging for me, I get to go see people rattling around in huge mansions encased in wealth….and then go to someone’s house where the power has been shut off and I have to go to the food bank for them. The imbalance, the gap between the rich and the poor, is so huge here. So too is the denial.

It’s the denial that weighs on me, whether it shows itself as cold indifference or basks in the virtue of its own goodness, goodness that never actually bothers to really fix anything. I get cranky about that, self-righteousness disguised as compassion. I try to avoid local politics, least they announce yet another hundred thousand dollar grant to study the problem and they have to haul me off kicking and screaming in frustration.

Life and life abundant. I have to work very hard at seeking His face everyday, placing my eyes on Jesus Christ in the midst of all this darkness because it really does threaten to pull me under if I don’t. His light shines all the brighter in the darkness and hope becomes such a precious commodity. He came to give us life and life abundant, but a bit like a baby stretching out his arms for His Father, we have to reach out for it.

rock

