Tags

, , , , , ,

Pedantic means, “over-scrupulous,  precise, exact, perfectionist,punctilious, meticulous, fussy, fastidious, finicky,” in other words I am totally being nit picky here and zoning in on 3 little words, but so be it. Fortunately I have that freedom, already being persona non grata.

I speak of Pastor Wilson’s words, The Divine Gl0ry Welterweight Division, and his concluding sentence, “he compares poorly to a special needs cauliflower.” I don’t know what it is about the far right and their fondness for attacking people with special needs,the retarded, the mentally ill, but I find it most annoying. I, who often have a sense of humor about darn near anything, just do not find cracks about the little yellow bus amusing. Equally unamusing is the heart and spirit behind such wise cracks.

Something about “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.” I encounter this problem quite often in discussions about theology, specifically, y’all have the words right but the way you treat people,  the way you speak of undesirables, the way you promote human hierarchies of worth and value is just down right ugly. So much for “Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

I don’t mean to be so offensive to the pride here, but I have had my greatest theological questions answered by those with special needs, not by the great and learned ones who spend days falling down rabbit holes and waxing poetic about theology. On the internet so many of those professing faith have actually been quite nasty to me. I’ve gone and developed a bad taste in my mouth.

One of my favorite discussions was between two guys with some cognitive issues, one who said, “God isn’t real.” The other replied, “if you are real than God is real.” If you are not real, than please stop talking to me.

The God denier said, “So, why do bad things happen?” And our faithful one replied, “because people are stupid.”

That settled the matter and the discussion was over. It resolved the question of God, the nature of His existence, and the problem with evil. Completely unsophisticated, but to this day the simplicity and wisdom behind those words resonate and I have never found a better argument for either. God is present, as in He is the I am. He is beyond what we would call “real,” in Him we have our very being.

As to the existence of evil, yep, people are stupid. We cause at least 95% of our own misery and the misery of others. It always astounds me how we can blame God for all the bad things in the world while simultaneously trying to deny His existence.

330px-Hands_of_God_and_Adam

