Tags

, , , , ,

First let me say with all good humor here, I am a latte colored female and forever young, so this article totally does not apply to me. I do have some affection and fondness for several “old white men” however, so there is that.

I speak of The Old Gray Lady, the New York Times, who has blessed us with this opinion piece,  “The Evangelicalism of Old White Men Is Dead.”

To give you a feel for the article, here is the first sentence, “As the election retreats like a hurricane heading back out to sea, first responders are assessing the damage left in its wake. One casualty is the reputation of evangelicalism.”

Right off the bat I want to say that is the wrong focus. Evangelists are not supposed to be focused on our worldly reputation, the favor and approval of men. We’re supposed to be following Jesus Christ, spreading the good news, sharing the bible, things like that. Somehow I just cannot picture the Apostle Paul and other leaders of the early church declaring, “has anyone checked the polls today? What’s our approval rating look like?”

Second of all, declaring “old white men” to be dead, is not nice at all. It is unkind and it is hostile. It’s also really disrespectful towards your elders. I feel a bit like Miss Grundy here, but that is simply poor manners and you should be ashamed of yourself.

So who are 

I say this over and over again, but respect your elders, because that is where the bulk of human wisdom and experience lives. That does not mean there is no room for anything “fresh or real,” it simply means that believing yourself to be the only one who has ever encountered the human condition, who has ever cared about the Body of Christ, is actually foolish and quite arrogant.

I love young people, they like to grab things right out of your hand and declare you’re doing it all wrong. They always seem to forget, we actually introduced them to flushing toilets and taught them how to wash their hands. Just saying.

I do believe that some change needs to come to the Western church, to the Body of Christ. I do believe that entwining the religious right and the Republican party has created a lot of collateral damage. I do believe there is a huge unchurched church sitting on the out skirts of evangelism. I do think this election really shook things up, ripped the roof off “the church,” so to speak, tossed some dirty laundry out onto the street.  I also think that’s a good thing. I am all about addressing dirty laundry and putting the fun back in dysfunction.

I have to say however, over and over again until it sticks, you just can’t reap honor by sowing disrespect.

