Tags

, , , ,

When in the course of human events….Actually I mean while having yet another random encounter with an atheist, the idea came up that “classical apologetics involves attempting to use logic, reason, and magical thinking to defend the indefensible.”

I am chuckling here, because when I first heard the word “apologetics,” I promptly said, “I ain’t apologizing for nothing!” The second thing I heard was, “you are the worst apologetic ever!” I’m really rather pleased with both of those things. I’m still not apologizing nor am I an apologetic in the classical sense where one goes about using logic and reason to defend the faith.

Don’t get me wrong, those things are probably much-needed in the world, I am just a bit more like a piece of the world’s collateral damage, a bit of flotsam tossed ashore and completely lacking any guile…..or knowledge of what the heck anyone is even talking about. (I’ll let you in on a confidence, I secretly believe none of these people have any idea what they’re taking about either.) But supposedly if you line your dialectic up with your rhetoric and weave it into your hermeneutics, it actually means something….

So let me officially declare that I am all about the indefensible, the illogical, and the irrational. The spiritual. Yep, I don’t care if people want to call it magical thinking, I still believe in talking donkeys, burning bushes, and the Red Sea parting. I believe that God spoke the world into existence and that manna fell from heaven. I believe in all sorts of crazy, irrational things. I believe that love conquers all and that He is now seated in victory at the right hand of the Father.

I also believe that what usually drives  people away from God isn’t an inability to reason or follow logic, it’s usually a quite rational response to some form of trauma. That truth often weighs heavy on my heart. Pride, rebellion, defiance, I know them all well, and they usually stem from wounding. They are like scar tissue one layers over pain.

I have to tell you, as someone who comes from a broken family of non believers, as someone who has always remained on the outskirt and fringes of the church, churchian culture can be quite a shock to the system. I kid you not, I have eaten seal fat with the Inuit and it did not prepare me for the culture shock of the churchian world.

I am now 20 years into this adventure and I have to say, those feelings have not abated one bit. I am still often crying out to God, “What have we done to your church?? What is with this religious institution we have created?? I don’t really want to live in an institution!”

It’s gotten somewhat comical, but there is truth there. What the world needs so badly today is a some simple people, some plain speaking, and some humility. We’re supposed to be speaking life to a dying world and yet often we don’t even see people’s pain, or worse, we just blame them for it.

fruit

