Tags

, , , , , ,

The book of Job is one of my favorites and will likely continue to be one of my favorites. Every time I read it I learn something new. Not only is it amazing piece of literature, there are some remarkable spiritual lessons hidden among those pages.

I mention the literary aspect because there is some astounding poetry going on, rhythm and music, and a story within a story, kind of like the layers of an onion just waiting for you to peel them away. One of those stories is a storm brewing in the background, something you aren’t quite aware of until you go back and read it again, but it all culminates with God coming out of the whirlwind.

I live way too much in the book of Job, or perhaps not, but I was lamenting my lot in life the other day with all good cheer, and pointing out to God that as much as I love Job, I should really prefer to go live in a different book of the bible now.

Yep, I really have mastered, “Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him…” -Job 13:15.  That one is now permanently written on the tablet of my heart and tattooed on my eye balls, metaphorically and emotionally of course, because obviously I am still breathing.

I’ve also mastered, “Can you bind the sweet influences of Pleiades, or loose the bands of Orion?” -Job 38:31. Totally, no.  God is God, and I am not. There are simply going to be many things beyond my understanding, and beyond my abilities too.

I kid you not, God spoke to my heart and said, go read The Scroll. Very funny, I have no idea what this even means. I know what the Song of Songs is, but I’ve never heard of any such scroll. Isn’t the whole bible basically a collection of scrolls? So I spent much of the day researching and come to find out that The Scroll is actually a name for the book of Esther. It’s well known in many circles as the “one handed scroll”on account of the fact that it was often placed on one scroll, hence The Scroll, rather than the plural “scrolls.”

Ahh, but apparently there has also been great controversy and debate over this one little scroll. Martin Luther is said to have had expressed contempt. Nothing intrigues me more than a good rabbit hole filled with controversy, intrigue, and contempt.

I’ve read The Scroll before and heard the tale, and even seen a movie or two, but now I shall have to read it with my literary eye fully engaged.

20101029_a_fairy_tale_by_temporary_peace

