Tags

, , , , ,

Just pondering the nature of trust and faith today, the way I find it so easy to trust in God for the big things. The sun will rise everyday,the stars will hang in the sky, gravity will continue to function. The things in life that are hard well, I trust that this too shall pass. I have huge faith in the big things.

The little things however, muhahaha! I trust nothing. I don’t trust the car will start, I don’t trust the coffee pot will continue working, I don’t trust I’ll remember to pay the water bill. It strikes me as really irrational, not a logical thing at all. I trust God to keep the stars up in the sky, but I’m a bit uncertain He can make sure I have access to coffee in the morning?

It seems as if the smaller the thing, the less faith I have. I suppose this is not all that uncommon, there are some people in faith who actually believe that God only takes care of the big things, being entirely too busy to get personally involved with any of us. I don’t believe that at all, I’ve seen too many tiny, personal miracles. I believe God is right there, all the time, counting the very hairs on our head. So many times I have asked for simple things and He has reassured me of not only His presence, but of His care and concern.

I say I have asked for “simple things,” but I am keenly aware that it may not be such a simple matter to coordinate and arrange a timely and perfectly delivered cup of coffee, or a series of kind words, or everyone I have contact with focusing on the same precise bible verse. Let me tell you,  when 3-4 people who don’t even know each other say the same words to you, you start to pay attention, to take note of such things. There is some synchronicity in the world that just defies explanation, that leads one to conclude Someone is conducting a orchaestra here, and if you are very quiet you can hear the music playing.

It’s hard sometimes to just “be still and know that I am,” to start to listen to what is going on, to start to receive those little gifts. I can be just like that proverbial fish asking, “what ocean?” It’s so easy to take things for granted and to go blind to them.

It occurs to me that I actually can’t even define the difference between “big things” and “little things,” at least not in Godly terms. For all I know, hanging the stars in the sky is somewhat effortless for God, whereas softening human hearts, tearing down walls, and herding a bunch of feral cats like one might conduct an orchestra, is a real pain in the neck.

wild things

