Tags

, , ,

Here’s an old article from the Guardian that is quite good, “News is bad for your health. It leads to fear and aggression, and hinders your creativity and ability to think deeply. The solution? Stop consuming it altogether”

Obviously I am not a purist here, as in I read that article, in the news, but just the same I have been really blessed by taking control of what I read and cutting way back on how much news I consume. I used to be a total news junkie, but a few years ago, I realized I was passively consuming endless sex, violence, corruption, and despair. Add in some of what passes as entertainment these days, and popular music that is very dark too, and you have a recipe for disaster.

Matthew 15 provides some good teaching on this issue, the whole chapter, but I like this particular verse,  “Not that which goeth into the mouth defileth a man; but that which cometh out of the mouth, this defileth a man.” It is not about whether we watch the news or not, or what kind of music we listen to, it is about what kind of impact that all has on our psyches, on the condition of our hearts.

In my case, I used to consume way too much negativity. Garbage in, garbage out. As it also says in that chapter, “For out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, blasphemies…” That’s  like the script for the 24 hour news cycle in a nut shell.

