Tags

, , , , , , ,

Something that always fascinates me is how perception is not necessarily reality and how easy it is to create a meme, a narrative that will permeate society until nearly everyone is on the same page with it. But is it really true? So often it is not, it is far more a matter of opinion, a narrative we wish to believe. What concerns me about these things is that so often what we believe to be true, true or not, has a way of eventually becoming our reality.

Hardly a day goes by that I don’t hear about the moral decline of America, about how Christianity is now on the outs, or more colorfully put, “your bronze age religion is about to go the way of the dinosaurs.” Sometimes you hear a variation of this message from religious leaders, too.

There’s no doubt in my mind that we live in interesting times, that morals and values are changing and not always for the better. Philosophically however, are we better or worse off then our ancestors? I really don’t know the answer to that, there are too many variables. The modern world has some real drawbacks, but then again, so did our past.

Anyway, regarding the alleged demise of Christianity in America, not so fast. I came across this blog and an article called “Religious decline in America? The answer depends on your timeframe” This graph caught my eye and kind of put things in a different perspective.

churchinglink here

While perusing the internet, I also came across this link and an article called, How Does Your State Rank in Church Attendance? Some interesting information to be found there, for example, “Residents of Vermont are least likely to attend church weekly, followed by New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts and Washington State.”

No wonder I always think Christianity is on the decline and church attendance is falling away. I’m number five on the list and I live in the bluest of blue counties within a blue state, a place I rather humorously call the ninth circuit of hell. That mockery often has more to do with our weather and our economy however, then our lack of church attendance.

