Tags

, , , , ,

My husband, he’s a little bit country and I’m a little bit rock and roll. We are so not Donny and Marie Osmond, but I always think of them and that song when we find a moment to get away and to listen to some music together. It makes me laugh. We are so not Donny and Marie.

It’s fascinating to me, our tastes are different, our styles are different, our music is different, and yet we somehow manage to arrive on the same page, often on the same day, aligned in our thinking, aligned in our dreaming, even.

As if to complete this theme of difference, diversity, and yet unity, I watched the Dove awards last night, recognizing and honoring Christian music. There’s some real diversity there, some flavors, everything from rap to rock and roll, to gospel. Diversity of music, cultures, flavors, and racial diversity, too, but all arriving on the same page, every one of those songs a testimony, words of praise and worship, unity to be found at the foot of the cross, where all those differences just fall away.

My hubby really likes this Craig Campbell song, the “Outskirts of Heaven,” so I thought I’d share it. I tend to believe we’re there already, living on the outskirts of heaven, so close and yet so far away. I think I catch a glimpse of heaven now and then, our potential as people, the possibilities, what kind of a world we can help create. One of my favorite sayings is, “Christ didn’t die just to get you into heaven, He died to get a bit of heaven into you.”

