Tags

, , , ,

I’m fond of duct tape, it fixes everything and comes in pretty colors now, too. I tend to fix everything with duct tape, but when God  fixes things, He fixes them for real. I would try to mend a broken heart with duct tape if I could, whereas God will simply conduct open heart surgery and change everything.

Spiritual Duct tape has another useful purpose too, when you are struggling not to speak or intervene in a situation. Duct tape your mouth. Discerning those times can take some real skills and some long conversations with God Himself, but there are times when He calls us not to act, but to not act. Stand down.

There are times when God is on the move, when He wishes to do a work in someone, when events are unfolding exactly as they should, when He does not want our intervention somewhere. I have felt that a few times quite powerfully, back off, leave it be, it’s not yours.

I’ve said this before, but I often really relate to Peter, as in “Lord, I can fix this, just let me lop off that man’s ear!” Peter however, like me, could not see the whole picture, he did not understand the whole plan. He thought he was helping, he thought he knew what was best for everybody involved, he thought he was protecting His Lord. I suspect that is why we have the lesson of Peter also betraying Christ 3 times before the cock crows. It can be a valuable teaching about humility, about understanding that God sees everything, that He knows everything even before it happens, and that He knows us in ways we don’t even know ourselves. It is foolish to believe that we know better than God.

There can be quite a bit of surrender required so that we can come to understand the difference between our will and God’s will. Our will is not always God’s will. What we want is not always what He wants. And like it or not, God’s will is always going to be best. We do not always understand, we cannot always see the big picture.“For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” -1 Corinthians 13:12

You can grieve those losses, those frustrations, when your will clashes with God’s will. It’s okay. I’ve thrown a few chairs and kicked a few tables. Duct tape is good for fixing those, too.

There’s another side to that, also. Not acting when He does call us to act. I have experienced that too, where I want to do something exciting and dramatic, and yet God wants me to go talk to someone I don’t particularly like about about something I’m not particularly interested in. Every single time I have been obedient to that call, I have been blessed, however. Every single time. There are no fruitless missions. I call these things rabbit holes, treasure hunts. I just don’t get it Lord, but I often do get it eventually. There is always a  rhyme and reason to this thing that I did not recognize at the time.

These are things that can take a great deal of discernment, prayer, some wisdom, and a willingness to be Spirit led, to learn to listen to His Still Quiet voice.

“But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.”– John 14:26

lamp

