Tags

, , , , ,

Ah, what a charming and romantic weekend I’ve had! That’s actually not sarcasm at all, I really mean it. An odd and convoluted bunch of feelings all at once, but still good. It’s been a week of grief and loss, of funerals and signs of life, all at the same time.

We’ve had a terrible head cold which I promptly gave to hubby. In the fog of that war, I informed him I was calling in sick, a bit funny because it was Saturday and I never work on Saturday, which compelled him to ask if I were planning to call in sick to life itself. Yes, exactly, I should like very much to call in sick and take a day off from life itself.

Or perhaps just unscrew my face and change the filter…..

We managed to get up and attend a funeral, a sad thing indeed, but a lovely memorial, and oddly an answer to prayer.  My hubby hasn’t set foot in that particular church for 40 years and it evoked some ancient memories. We saw some folks we have not seen for many years too, some quite surprised to see we were still around, still married. I must admit, I love to see the shock and surprise on people’s faces. It is sad, staying married is not a common thing in my neck of the woods.  Heck, sometimes I think staying alive is not a common thing in my neck of the woods.

We took some naps together. We ate some soup. Such mundane, ordinary things, life in all it’s glamor, and yet I am grateful for the simplicity, for the common things.

I called in sick to church today, too, desiring to protect the beloved of Christ from this miserable cold. I missed it, but hubby and I had “church” today, such as it was, and it was good.

It was good.  I love that declaration, that proclamation. Genesis 1:31, And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good.

soup

