Tags

, , , , ,

Night Wind has  done a couple of posts about the red pills I really appreciated, that hit on some of my concerns, some things that compel me to keep speaking out and speaking up about this.

THE MANOSPHERE, NAZIS, AND TWITTER

THE RED PILL CULT AGAIN ENDORSES DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Something I think people need to be aware of, these are huge groups with thousands of followers and they have an influence on people that is not always so positive. There is a lot of social engineering going on, manipulation, bullying, trolling, twitter mobs, internet abuse.

I have 3 primary concerns, many of these people are claiming Jesus Christ’s name, they are using scripture often in inappropriate ways to justify just about everything from outright racism to graphic violence. First and foremost, I cannot stand to see Jesus Christ represented so poorly, and I cannot stand false teachings. These are not false teachings of the Joel Osteen flavor, these are some pretty graphic and violent perversions, often all entwined with sexual rage and frustration.

Not all of them mind you, some people are genuinely just seeking some answers, some are still speaking of mens rights and social change, but woven among them is also a violent element that must be spoken out against because they are promoting a God of nothing but wrath and vengeance.

Second of all, the Red Pills also attract vulnerable people, people who haven’t got much discernment, some broken and hurting, some with mental health problems. One thing about the internet, you have no idea who is on the other side of the screen reading you. So while I may see the words “punch them harder,” or “throw acid in their faces”and simply think, oh look, a bunch of hotheads blowing off steam, to others this kind of thinking becomes their ideology, their religion, their very identity. To make matters worse red pills recently launched a war against churchianity, declared the enemy is within the churchian world, and created isolation, or at least this idea that you are a traitor if you were to join a church, consult with anyone else about scripture, or fellowship outside of your red pill world.

And lastly, I’m a huge free speech advocate, I believe in internet freedom,  I dislike the NSA spying on us, I don’ t like thought policing, I despise censorship, but when 50 people are abusing some young girl on twitter, advocating child rape, or carrying on about killing Jews, y’all make my job so much harder. You fuel a movement that brings us closer to the very censorship you claim to be opposed to.

Long ago an old judge took me under his wing. I wasn’t a big fan of free speech for Neo Nazis or things like civil rights for pedophiles, but he taught me a lot and changed my whole perspective. The civil rights I would revoke against those I dislike are the same civil rights that protect me should the tables ever be turned. Don’t ever believe the tables can’t turn.

He taught me something else about free speech though, he taught me that violent ideologies spring up in the midst of silence and create genuine collateral damage in the world. The only way to fight back against it is to make sure your voice is louder than all the hatred and insanity around you.

When you see something wrong, say something. One of the hardest things for me to deal with is watching Christians who should know better let things like advocating for rape, violence against Jews, or perverted scripture, just slide right on by in a comment thread. Those few who do speak up are quickly kicked out, but you all are my heroes. Speak up, stand up, these aren’t casual discussions about grape juice versus wine.

Something that really surprises me, I can sometimes see Christ in people, even across the intertoobz. I can sense  His presence, I can see His fruits, often in random strangers I don’t even know, people I have never spoken too. He really does shine, like a Light, and pops up at the most interesting times, in the darkest discussions. Be His Light.

There is nothing new under the sun, there is a war going on, but it is not a physical war, or a political one, it is a spiritual war, and part of it has to do with looking around and seeing who is actually spreading the “gospel,” and making sure you spread the real one, drown out what is dark and ugly and be the purifying power of salt.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in highplaces. – Ephesians 6:12

