Tags

, , , , , ,

You are blessed, blessed I tell you……or perhaps this is just not your day, because I have selected your comment from among the fan mail du jour, the endless soliloquies that stop by to tell me how awesome I am.

For those who don’t know, a soliloquy is “an utterance or discourse by a person who is talking to himself or herself and is disregardful of or oblivious to any hearers present.”

Let’s return to my awesomeness however. Your comment begins with, “You are making me want to bang my head against a wall!”

I know right? I have that affect on some people. That is why I seldom leave my house and often lurk in my own little corner of the internet.

“I used to defend god, Jesus, Christianity until I opened my eyes to the ridiculousness. I don’t want to be a follower I choose to be independent and free to live and be who I choose! Religion does not allow that!

In a somewhat ironic twist, I really began to defend God, Jesus, Christianity when I opened my eyes to MY OWN ridiculousness. I also am not much of a follower, but Christ is all about freedom, as in He came to set the captives free, so it’s all good.

“Atheism is the lack of believing in any god(s) or religion. No god or religion exists. That is atheism.”

I’m pretty sure religion does exist, on account of the fact that “religion” appears to be what atheists like yourself are objecting to. It would be rather foolish to object to that which you believe does not exist, don’t you think?

“The bible contradicts itself…read it. And how can one accept a book as truth when incest and rape is acceptable.”

I totally get that. Rape and incest seem to exist in the actual world too, and so I have decided to simply close my eyes and declare that “the world” does not exist now. Actually, no, that would be crazy. Obviously “the world” is real enough. As to rape and incest, both of which are atrocious crimes which seek to rob someone of their mind, body, and spirit, the bible does not advocate these atrocities, it simply speaks the truth about human nature. In fact, Matthew 18:6 gives us a few clues as to God’s opinion actual on the matter, when He says, “But who so shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.”

You conclude with, “I can keep going so I will stop here. Get your head out of the sand!”

Clouds, love. My head is in the clouds, as in, look up! The evidence of God’s existence is all around us. He is here, there, and everywhere, and in His gentleness and mercy He often reveals Himself to us softly, in His still quiet voice, in the sunrise, and in our very own heart beats.

He loves you too, my little atheist fan, whether you accept Him or not. Also, good news! He is exceedingly more patient and merciful than I am.

achillesquarrel’s comment can be found in it’s entirety here.

mainstream

