Tags

, , , ,

yabbAll in good fun here, but I meet a whole lot of realists on the internet. Realists are people who see the world as it actually is and not in the delusional, indoctrinated, Bronze-age- goat-herder-worshiping way I do.

Ah, okay. So when people announce to me that they bravely see the world as it actually is, rather than how they wish it to be, I often want to ask, so exactly how much do you drink? I don’t mean that impolitely, it’s just that I often do see the world as it really is and it’s enough to send me reaching for anaesthesia. What makes you all so much braver?

This used to puzzle me, but after painfully wading through the muck with some realists, I was startled to discover something. Without fail their perception of the world amounts to “99% of people are just all basically good, it’s just culture, religion, inequality, and social mores, that lead some of us astray. There’s no such thing as sin, just some people who haven’t yet had the opportunity to eat more kale and meditate.” That’s a bit funny, but I didn’t make it up, someone actually said that to me the other day.

It seems as if the realists are actually not quite as realistic as they like to fancy themselves, as they can see no depravity in mankind at all. He is good, man I mean. She is good too, I guess. Sin doesn’t exist. Left our own devices, we just build pleasant little utopian villages and hold hands and share everything. Which does beg the question, why haven’t we done it yet? I mean, in thousands of years of human history we’ve never really managed to do that. What is this mysterious thing that seems to prevent us all from all holding hands and singing kumbaya?

Ah realists. I have to tell you, sometimes I feel like such a cynic, because not once have I ever thought, people are awesome and good and have no need of Salvation or Redemption at all. We got this thing!

Sigh. That probably comes from being a bit of flotsam bobbing in the tide of humanity. Frequent collateral damage, or as a friend once quipped, “what are you, the whole world’s personal road kill?” Yep, somedays it sure can feel like that. Nothing quite like being the bug on so many people’s windshields to get you contemplating the nature of people and the nature of sin. Sure seems real enough to me.

I am a realist, one with some well earned gallows humor. I regret to inform all the posers, those who claim to see the world “as it really is,” that in fact we do actually have a sin problem, that we live in a broken world, and that we are all in desperate need of Salvation.

“….For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God. Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof….”

perfume

