Tags

, , , ,

This link comes courtesy of Disorderly Politics.

I speak of the Buzz Feed Quiz, How much of a Feminist are you? Needing some frivolous brain rot, naturally I clicked on Buzz feed and found the usual smorgasboard of empty calories.

So the survey is here,  50 questions to determine if You are a feminist. I seem to have failed epically, which now designates me a mass……donkey’s behind. Ahem, “donkey’s behind” is not the word Jessica Massa actually uses in her rather clever url there, but you get the point. My bad.

“You checked off 4 out of 50 on this list!” Fortunately I am offered the encouraging words, “You know your fair share about women’s rights and suffrage, but hey, it never hurts to learn a little more!”

So, in no particular order, I shall elaborate on some of these issues.

My main objection to most of these questions was actually about the totalitarian tone, the enforced mandate aspects of it all. Power and control. Bossy! That’s one of the questions by the way, “I have never called a woman bossy.” Well, I just did.

Another question, “I do not think a movie should be released unless it passes the Bechdel test.” So what are we going to do with all the bad people who fail to make movies that pass the ever elusive Bechdel test? Have them taken out back and shot? That’s the problem with so many of these questions, “I do not think it should…..” People are always free to “think” what ever they like, the problem comes when we start to believe we should be able to enforce what we think and make others comply.

“I would be willing to give up some of my salary if I had to, so that equal pay in my workplace could be a reality.” Apparently they have never met some of my co- workers! I am 50 years old, I have worked this job for more than 20 years, fighting for every darn dime, and I do mean dime, that is soon erased by minimum wage increases and tax hikes, anyway. Those of us with some gallows humor often threaten to quit and just go work for McDonalds, where my state has mandated a 15 dollar minimum wage.  Is there some reason why I need to give up my own pitiful salary? Can others not just earn their own?

“I can’t help but be bothered when a song includes misogynistic lyrics, even when I otherwise like the song”  No, if I actually like a song, than I do not wrap myself in endless shame and self loathing, torn between the angst of a good beat and my endless need to virtue signal my disapproval at the political incorrectness of it all.

“I believe it’s important to compliment a woman’s intelligence over her looks.” My father, bless his heart, somehow knew this was not a good idea. There was never any question I was intelligent. There was often some question as to whether or not I was pretty. Somehow he knew that always telling a daughter she was smart was a way of implying that she just wasn’t pretty. Perhaps it isn’t PC, but I don’t know a woman in the world, from 9 to 90 who doesn’t want to be appreciated and valued for “her pretty.” I’m all grown now, but well into my 20’s I still cringed when people said I was smart. “Guys don’t make passes at girls who wear glasses,” and we all know it. There is just something within the spirit of girls of all ages that wishes to be delighted in, valued, appreciated for what is beautiful within us.

“If I had a daughter, I would encourage her to be anything she wanted to be.” That’s a tough one, but no, not really. I could never encourage her to be a unicorn for example, because I could not bear to see her surgically implant a horn in her head. Flying is another problem, as much as I like the idea of flying, sticking the landing is still a major challenge. I’m sorry, but if you want to be a unicorn or you think you can fly, I’m going to do everything I can to steer you in another direction.

“Do you know who Bell Hooks is?” Why yes, she’s the one who said, “The political core of any movement for freedom in the society has to have the political imperative to protect free speech. “

That is really what lurks behind my objection of post modern feminism. Besides the superficial fluff and the rather perverse and odd emeshment with Islam and Marxism, the issues around power and control, the totalitarian aroma actually begins to frighten me and send my freedom loving heart right into the welcoming arms of misogyny over and over again.

But what would I know? I apparently am just a donkey’s behind, or so says Buzz feed.

