Tags

, , ,

Tom Petty is odd choice for a Sunday morning, the Lord’s day, but he’s been on my mind lately. As if to reaffirm that, several bloggers I rather like have been posting Petty songs. So here is my contribution, one of my favorites, on account of the fact that I have so often felt like a refugee and must be reminded over and over again that I don’t have to live that way.

I sometimes quip about how I seem to have crash landed on the wrong planet. I have no idea what I am doing here, but this is so not my home. Also, there are some really rotten people down here! Help! ET phone home.

God rather than saying wake up, or snap out of it, or something, has quite clearly said, Yes! You are IN the world but not OF the world. I belong to Him, to His Kingdom far away, but not always so far away, sometimes within and without and all around me.

