Tags

, , ,

“ACTS I” is not my idea, I shamelessly stole it from a pastor, likely a famous one whose name eludes me. It’s an acronym and I do like the acronyms for short hand and a quick reminder. “ACTS I” is actually on my fridge, although not in this context at all, it’s simply a bit of advertising from a playbill that I stuck on a magnet. I like the synchronicity there. I’ve been staring at those words, simply enjoying the elegance of the lettering and then along comes this pastor who assigns meaning to them. That’s the magic and mystery of God’s kingdom.

So “ACTS I” is a way of praying, a guideline so to speak. There’s really no wrong way to pray, but some of us do run out of words on rare occasions. Okay, so that’s never actually happened to me, but just the same I do like the format. It goes something like this:

A-Adoration

C-Confession

T-Thanksgiving

S-Supplication

I-Intercession

So you begin with adoration, praise, acknowledgment of who God is, then you confess anything that may be coming between you and Him, then you move into thanksgiving, gratitude, then supplication, “we have not because we ask not.” Supplication means, “the action of asking or begging for something earnestly or humbly.” The I is actually an “I” for intercession, mostly prayers on behalf of others.

“Acts” is actually an action word in this case, a verb, and prayer is an act, as in she who takes action. There is also a scriptural basis for this little an acronym that I rather like:

“Be anxious for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.”-Philippians 4:6

lamp

