Have you ever heard that saying, be careful what you pray for? I take this very seriously because God seems to have quite the sense of humor when dealing with me. So, be careful what you ask for, it may not always be what you want.

I do pray for a revival, but let it begin with me Lord, set me on fire for you. Kindle my heart, fan that flame within me, fill me with a passion for your Holy Spirit.

About a month ago I was praying for a country wide revival when I felt that sudden hesitation that signals that God wants me to listen to Him, that He intends to redirect my prayers and show me something. So, it was time to be still and to know that I Am or rather He is, and to listen.

1 Timothy 5:8 came to mind immediately, “But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.”

We take care of our own, but do we really, as a culture, as a nation, as a church?

Acts 4:34-35 also came to mind,  “Neither was there any among them that lacked: for as many as were possessors of lands or houses sold them, and brought the prices of the things that were sold, And laid them down at the apostles’ feet: and distribution was made unto every man according as he had need.

Well now, so much for tithing ten percent.

Like 18:22 also says, “Now when Jesus heard these things, he said unto him, Yet lackest thou one thing: sell all that thou hast, and distribute unto the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, follow me.”

Okay, you all go first.

I jest a bit here, but I found it interesting that while I was praying for revival, God kept speaking to me about money, about what we place our worth and value on, about how far we’ve fallen from those biblical values that Christ taught.

And so I came to understand that in the process of praying for revival, I had no idea what I was really praying for. A genuine movement of God’s Spirit across this land would probably cause massive financial upheaval, changed hearts, chaos, divisions, major transformation. It would certainly pull the rug right out from under us.

It’s not that praying for revival was wrong, it was that I was praying for something with little awareness of the implications or the motive behind my prayers. Praying to regain the cultural upper hand? Praying for a realignment of political power?

Yes to both, but I had forgotten for a moment that revival is not really about culture or politics or power at all, it is about the restoration of the church itself to a vital and fervent relationship with God. That is the revival I truly seek.

walk

