Tags

, , , , , ,

Blame makes me crazy. It is such a futile, weak, and shame based response to all that ails us, and oh so human, too. Who’s fault is this?? Because surely it is not mine! Somebody was bad here, but not me and whoever it was they better fess up so I can cast stones and wash my own hands clean of this thing…

John 9, Jesus heals a man blind since birth. The very first thing the disciples say is, “Master, who did sin, this man, or his parents, that he was born blind?” That really is the nature of people, the first thing we like to ask is, who’s fault is this, who do we blame?

Listen to Christ speaking now however, He teaches us something completely different, “Jesus answered, Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents: but that the works of God should be made manifest in him.”

Why is this man blind? That the works of God should be made manifest in him. For the glory of God! This man is blind, not because someone is bad, not because of wrong doing, but to make manifest the glory of God.

Jesus goes on to say something very profound, I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.  As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

“As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” I love that, it speaks to personal responsibility. Since those of us who follow Christ are called to emulate him, however imperfectly that winds up looking, “As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” Make haste, too, daylight is wasting.

How different the world would look if every time we were dealt a crappy hand of cards, we would look to Christ and praise God for the gift He has just handed us, the opportunity to be His Light. If we would truly embrace the fact that every hardship, every challenge, every affliction exists to make manifest the glory of God, how different everything would be. These are not curses, these are blessings, and even though I cannot always see it, I know it, I have seen God in action enough times to trust in His word, And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

monky

 

