Tags

, , , , , , ,

teapotI really enjoyed this article and found it to be both charming and humorous. Also, oddly comforting and full of biblical wisdom. From over at the federalist.com, written by Paul Davis Miller, “Trump Supporters Aren’t Stupid. They’re Foolish “

One of my favorites from the article is the line, “Democracy is government of the stupid, by the stupid, and for the stupid.” Yep, I’ve actually said that a few times myself.

We have some crazy ideas in our culture, like how being intelligent has something to do with morality, superiority, and world domination. We assume people must be rich, successful, powerful, because they’re so smart. Whereas those who aren’t, must be stupid. I’ve railed against this idea for years because it simply isn’t true and it’s a dangerous concept to be deceived by.

Proverbs 18:2, yes amen to that, Fools find no pleasure in understanding  but delight in airing their own opinions.” I call that “intellectual curiosity.” A staggering number of people completely lack intellectual curiosity. They are far more interested in lobbing you upside the head with their opinions and shouting you down as if might makes right. I call that the Jerry Springer phenomenon.

Because I have a tendency to be chronically displeased, I’m not sure who irritates me more, intelligent people who don’t realize how foolish they are, or stupid people who believe they’re really smart. Duct tape, duct tape fixes everything.

because I’m a girl and love to embrace the feminine prerogative of either changing my mind suddenly or leaping over to a completely unrelated issue without warning, I’ve always thought, “we the stupid, led by the foolish,” was a great analogy for marriage, for   relationships between men and women. Said with all good humor… on the way to the gallows, of course.

“The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.” Proverbs 9:10

alices adventures

