Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love the oddities, the unusual, the strange, and bizarre. Well, up to a point. We shouldn’t be trying to make the peculiar it into a competition or something, like we often do here in the 9th circuit of hell.

When the kids were young we took them to museums and curiosity shops, including Ripley’s. Truth really is stranger than fiction. There is more mystery and  magic in the world than we can even comprehend. There are stories being written that we can’t see, that we probably wouldn’t even believe if we could watch them unfold. Stories so absurd, even in the face of irrefutable evidence, our brains would still rebel. Nope, this does not compute, just too absurd.

Absurd is neither good or bad, it simply means, “wildly unreasonable, illogical.” It slams into the reasoning parts of our brain and is promptly rejected, dismissed as “absurd.” Doesn’t mean it isn’t real, it simply means we cannot process it properly.

Recently I took yet another one of those  social media quizzes, “left brain or right brain,” that confirmed what I already know to be true, I’m about 75% left brain. I am so much left brain, I cannot even wink my left eye. The right hemisphere is mainly in charge of spatial abilities, face recognition, and processing music. I am remarkably limited in all those areas. In general, the left hemisphere is dominant in language and in charge of carrying out logic and  mathematical computations.

Bit of a joke, but I am not even in my right brain.

I am all about logic, order, promptly rejecting the absurd that does not compute and I am keenly aware of this. I am a skeptic extraordinaire. Somewhat amusing, but God is aware of this too, and He has so often done what I call “sneaking in under the radar.” My heart cannot resist Him, so He sets my brain on some task and just slips into my heart when I’m not looking. That absolutely delights me, it is miraculous and astounding, and I feel it profoudly, every single time. I call it suspending my disbelief.

God has taken one such as me with such a dominant left brain and enabled me to believe in miracles, in talking donkeys, in disembodied hands writing on a wall, in burning bushes, in the power of the Holy Spirit. All things my brain itself recognizes as absurd, as the precise opposite of human reason and logic.

So today I believe in things we left brainers would instinctively label absurd, we would pull away from perhaps fearfully, having a powerful need to cling to our own perception of reality, to maintain our sense of order amid the chaos. To avoid the artsy, creative, spiritually driven, uncomfortable  foreign land that lives on the other side of our brains.

There’s a miracle in my life, a hidden story within my brain, one that is so hard to explain to others because it cannot be seen, a truly absurd story, a Ripley’s Believe it or Not, but it is a sweet story about the nature of God, about how He knows exactly how to claim His own.

Talking to non believers and even some Christians, I often hear how absurd the bible is, how delusional I am, how irrational, how illogical, how my  eisegetical interpretation fails an exegetical hermeneutic.

Yes, I know, I so, so know, but I  fell in love, let go, and let Him in. It is absolutely absurd, I totally agree, but it is the best absurd ever. Also, rather amusing, but the very definition of “absurd” is when one starts arguing in favor of the vast superiority of their own exegetical hermeneutic with God Himself, who can simply settle the argument by reaching out and poking you in the brain. In His kindness however, He seldom does, unless we ask.

“And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.” Mark 9:24

trust

