Tags

, , , , , , ,

saywhatI shamelessly stole this convoluted meme off of facebook because it was just messing with my head. I’m not quite sure what to make of it, but the word “confused” comes to mind.

Forget the politics, I can only address one thing at a time. So, just view this as a generic meme about gender and relationships

So first off, eeeww, because I don’t want to be someone’s princess, the Queen, She Who Must Be Obeyed, a perfectly grown man’s mommy.

Second of all, I have no desire to be someone’s crowning achievement, their  trophy, the keeper of your crown, the one you must kneel before if you wish to be valued in the world.

Did I mention the mommy issues? I believe I did. “If you don’t pick him up, who will?” What, am I married to an infant now?

So, Prince Charming also seems to have had a bad day, as in his clothes are torn and he has a couple of knives sticking in his back. Life is hard, I get it, and there’s nothing wrong with providing some comfort, perhaps some nursing skills, but I have to tell you, this is not the most masculine image, ever.

In fact, it’s really a rather de-masculinizing  meme, one sure to create lots of misery in the world. I mean come on, the man is on his knees dripping blood and looking pathetic, practically begging for some affection. Does that in anyway speak to protection and provision? Is there anything attractive about that imagery? (Unless you have a thing for wounded birds I guess, in which case, who am I to judge?)

Just saying, this is actually the precise opposite of any biological cue relating to relationships and most of those cues really do revolve around the perception of provision and protection. I say “perception of,” because women can be complex creatures, so that will look a bit different to each of us and manifest itself in different ways, but over all, sobbing at our feet is not going to be one of them.

So yes, build him up, value him, pour praise upon him, comfort him in times of stress, make him feel like somebody’s king, by all means do so. I have to tell you however, that last sentence “don’t become another fight he has to win,” that’s a self fulfilling prophecy, because you’re going to get awfully tired of having to patch him up and rather resentful about always having to be “the only one” who values him.

Ah, women can be cruel indeed, so all in good humor here, but my first thought wasn’t how sweet, how charming, my first thought was, Hmm, I wonder how long it would take him to bleed out if I just removed all those knives?

