Tags

, , , , ,

“What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.”– 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Glorify God in your body and spirit, now there’s some challenging words. Glorify God even when circumstances are grievous? Yes! That’s the best time of all to glorify Him. And also when you are feeling like a total slug, like a biological lump of goo, so far from Holy you can hardly move? Yes!

My particular issue with this  passage is remembering that I am Holy ground so to speak, a temple for the Holy Ghost, spiritually, mentally, and emotionally. Not exactly willingly, I often take in too much poison, pollution, yuck, mostly composed of other people’s negativity.

I really don’t listen to much pop music, most of it is filled with vulgarity and negativity, but it plays on people radios and in the grocery store. I can hardly stand TV, but there is often TV running in the background where I work. There are screenshots, lyrics, and memories, there too, from a time when I did not understand what a powerful influence these things could have. Secular culture, Hollywood culture, impacts us all.

I use to be a news junky too, but now I limit my news to a few articles on the internet, to a select few topics and a limited amount of research. News is designed to sell dirty laundry so it’s always going to be negative. I let go of my need to know “what’s going on in the world.” I don’t need to know. I don’t even want to know. Besides, it isn’t even the whole story, it doesn’t give you an accurate picture of reality. They’ll travel the world to bring you the ugliness, but completely ignore the bulk of the good news. So I scan a few headlines and trust that if I ever need to duck, someone will inform me.

I’m not an absolutist on any of these things, it is simply that I personally cannot be a temple of the Holy Ghost when I am wallowing in anxiety and despair, completely immersed in the world’s negativity. It wears on me, it brings me down and it makes it harder for me to glorify God.

And there really is a whole tsunami of negativity out there too, knocking on every possible door, our cells phones, our computers, our TVs. Our doors. Than there is life, sure to throw you a few curve balls now and then.

My husband is surprisingly good support with this. He can sense when I am getting overwhelmed, when I have taken in too much, when I need some quiet time with God. Sometimes he can sense it before I can. I really appreciate his reminders, set it down, let it go, walk it off.

We ourselves are Holy ground, a temple for the Holy Ghost, a place where He can reside, like a sanctuary, a place to be set apart, kept pure, and guarded. I used to try to explain this to my kids as “your middle,” the place inside, your inner sanctum. Don’t let the dark things go there and stain your soul.

