Tags

, , ,

Worship is a lifestyle choice. One must wake up like Snow White with the birds singing, trilling to the happy forest creatures. Or if you are guy, you may prefer a different analogy, but the point is, worship is a choice that declares God is good and He reigns.

It is perhaps, the most challenging lifestyle choice ever invented.

God is good in the mist of storms, in the bottom of a pit, even when your heart is breaking. Worship involves devotion, adoration, and reverence. Devotion, because one must make a choice over and over again, a choice to praise Him in all circumstances, even when you are being pitched nothing but curve balls and fast balls, to praise Him even when it feels as if the pitcher is just using you for target practice. Amen Lord, amen, if this is how it’s going to be, make me the best target I can be.

It’s not so easy. I have a tendency to ask, “why me,” when in fact a better response is, “why not me?” Am I not worthy of such struggles and strife? Who better to deal with these things than me?

How easy it is to forget those words the Lord says to Satan, Hast thou considered my servant Job, that there is none like him in the earth, a perfect and an upright man, one that feareth God, and escheweth evil?” I always quote those words and quickly say a prayer of gratitude, no boils Lord, no stray dogs licking at wounds as of yet, that’s always a good thing. Things could always be worse.

One of my favorite verses is also from Job 38:31, “Canst thou bind the sweet influences of Pleiades, or loose the bands of Orion? It reminds me that there are many things I cannot understand, many things I cannot do, that God is God and I am not. Perhaps someday He will explain it all to me, this is why, this was the purpose behind that, but in my narrow field of vision right now I simply cannot see all of the whys and wherefores.

1 Corinthians  13:12 tells us , For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”  It makes me think of antique bubble glass, hand blown, heavily veiled and yellowed by decades of dust and grime, and we are on the inside trying desperately to peer out, to see what simply cannot be seen. Someday that glass will shatter and we will see clearly what beauty lurks on the other side.

“I can see clearly now the rain is gone.
I can see all obstacles in my way.
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind.
It’s gonna be a bright (bright)
bright (bright) sunshiny day.
It’s gonna be a bright (bright)
bright (bright) sunshiny day.”

 

