Tags

, , , , , ,

“Rocky Raccoon checked into his room
Only to find Gideon’s bible…”

I love that song. It’s the Beatles from the white album, an album I have that is white rather than black as most records were. Rocky Racoon is one of my favorites.

I have to laugh, I have so many things that are burned into my brain, I really could use a good defrag of the old hard drive. So every time someone mentions the Gideons, my brain starts singing Rocky Racoon and thinking of the white album.

The Gideons are pretty neat. One of those groups of Christians that often operate in the background, that we don’t speak of all that much, that are just a fixture of our lives in the Western world, a group we perhaps take for granted sometimes, and yet we all know if we check into a motel room, we’re likely to find a Gideon bible there.

The Gideons have been around for a hundred years and have distributed more than a billion copies of scripture in 180 countries. It’s pretty impressive.

What I enjoy the most is people’s testimonies and there are thousands of them, people whose lives were touched and changed because they had access to a bible at just the right time. Well, God does the actual changing, but the Gideons often plant the seeds.

They have a section of testimonies on their website that is quite poignant, real people’s lives impacted so powerfully, often all because a Gideon somewhere was willing to stand up for God’s word.

Sometimes I think we forget how we have the ability, even the authority, to completely change the course of someone’s life by simply standing up for God’s word. We never really know how God is using us or how many eyes are watching us, but we all have a role to play in the story.

Standing in God’s word, I can’t even begin to explain how much that matters, that the standing is everything, that the actual doing is secondary. Just stand.

I love Ephesians 6:13-15  Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;  And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace…”

