“But if ye be led of the Spirit, ye are not under the law…” –Galatians 5:18

It’s probably no secret to anyone who reads this blog that I am Spirit led, that I did not grow up in the church, that my parents were not Christians. I knew grace before I knew conviction. I did not reach the end of my rope and become a convert, I was born into condemnation, chaos, wrath… and than I found grace, hope, redemption, Jesus Christ Himself, and so began a long journey of learning to trust in Him, to believe in Him, to know that He is real. Alone, He and I, no bible, no church.

For sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace-Romans 6:14

I have had some profound close encounters of the God kind that have left no doubt in my mind that God is real. He is not only real, He is risen and seated at the right hand of the Father, and He is intimately involved in our lives.

After each one of these experiences, God has said, now go tell the others. Tell them the good news, tell them that God is real. Ha! Right, but I haven’t got the words to describe it properly and no one will believe me anyway! In fact, they’ll probably just threaten to lock me up or call me delusional. Go tell the others the good news. You know, as crazy as that sounds, it isn’t really, it’s just the great commission expressed with different words. Go tell it on the mountain, that Jesus Christ is Lord. He is risen.

For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. – John 1:17

I often say, in Christ there is no condemnation, but in the Body of Christ there sure can be. Good grief! I don’t wish to pound on Christians today, but so many continue to speak of the wrath of God, of vengeance, of how much God hates sin, of condemnation and judgement and the law and how we must now bring order to the universe.

But He is risen! Oh I believe it, I know it in every fiber of my being, but do we all? Perhaps not, perhaps those words are now spoken more in rote. Perhaps we are so busy obsessing over the law and the rules and the regulations and the politics that we sometimes forget that He is risen. That victory is His. It is finished. Why do we not simply walk in His victory and rejoice?

If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed. -John 8:36

Grace is scary, I get that. It is a bit like free falling through the universe. We can’t just throw out the law altogether, what if people sin? You can’t be lead by the Spirit, what if you get it wrong? Me, who can’t even leave a shopping cart in the blasted parking lot at 2 AM without God saying, “Hey, you better put that back.” That is what conviction by grace does to you. Many do not have that. Many Christians do not have that.

But now, by dying to what once bound us, we have been released from the law so that we serve in the new way of the Spirit, and not in the old way of the written code. –Romans 7:6

But what about the law? The law is written on the tablet of my heart. Grace does not just erase the fabric of the universe, it is the law, it is the very fabric of the universe. Sometimes I want to ask people, why are you trotting along behind Moses when you are supposed to be serving in the new way of the Spirit?

I don’t know how to speak to people who think of God and see nothing but wrath, vengeance, lawbreakers and condemnation, people who lean so far into their theology they seem to miss the whole message.

I don’t know what to say except you people break my heart, something that has so overwhelmed me all I can muster this year is a gentle whisper, But He is risen, indeed.

