Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

shoephoneI grew up mostly off the grid, no electricity, no running water, sustenance living. It’s a mixed blessing,Β  on one hand I know how to live without, on the other hand I know what it’s like to live without. Call me crazy, but I much prefer the creature comforts of modern civilization.

We had a major storm here the other day, lots of rain and wind, no electricity, cable, internet, telephone…..coffee.

I do love my husband, he unceremoniously wakes me up at 5:20 in the morning, “Get up, we have to go secure some coffee.” Ahh, sweeter words have never been spoken. Seriously! The man knows perfectly well how to rustle himself up a cup of coffee. He doesn’t need me….. but he wants me. He actually desires my company first thing in the morning. Also, I just love a man who has his priorities straight. First step of survival… locate coffee.

We are great survivalists he and I, and have delighted in many adventures off the grid, camping out, weathering storms, homesteading, but he shares my heart, while that is all well and good, coffee and a soft bed are some of the reasons why people actually chose to survive. In the absence of something worth surviving for, who really cares?

So, while out on our reconnaisance mission seeking coffee, we turned on the radio and got blasted with the sheer melodrama of it all. “It’s a disaster zone over there, schools are closed, we haven’t heard from any of our friends, this is bad folks, it’s really bad…” Second rule of survival training, never, ever watch the news or listen to the radio in the event of a disaster. Their job is to hype people up and sell excitement, even where none exists.

There were some branches down, a few trees, some flooding, and the power was out, but it sure wasn’t armageddon. We did have to rough it for a while, sucking down that vile brew from the minimart that they try to sell as “coffee.” I spend most of my time debating whether or not that particular brew is actually better than nothing….. or just placebo until I can acquire an actual cup of coffee.

In the olden days we would have just built a fire in the backyard and got the BBQ going, but Cujo lives there now. I’m not in the mood to slay the dragon-dog, never take my eyes off of him, and constantly defend my turf, all before I’ve actually had my coffee. Neither is hubby, apparently.

Our kids do not share our survival skills, something I sometimes regret not teaching them fully. So naturally our kids simply had meltdown after meltdown, all day long, no TV, no facebook, no hot food. The last thing you ever want to see is our kids actually having to talk to each other. I exaggerate just a bit, but sheesh. There really is something different going on there, entitlement, taking things for granted. I regret not teaching them better and yet I forgive myself too, because the only way to learn to appreciate things like hot water is to have lived a long time without.

It’s interesting, I’ve learned so many survival tricks, so many practical tips on how to live well no matter what, but none of those things really matter. It’s not about getting things in the right order, water, fire, shelter, food, nor is it about being able to protect and defend yourself, it’s all about your attitude and knowing exactly why you are choosing to survive. Whether it’s one of those storms of life or the zombie apocalypse, it really all comes down to your attitude, to where your hope lives, to your willingness to surrender to the reality of your situation and to adapt. That’s the part I regret not doing a good enough job teaching to my kids. How to adapt when life lets you down.

As for me, well my hope lies with the Lord, with trusting in Him, but some of my desire to survive also lies with the one who has so often delighted me with the simple words, “Get up, we have to go secure some coffee.”

doomsday

