Tags

, , , , , , ,

Many men, many, many, many, many men
Wish death ‘pon me
Lord I don’t cry no more
Don’t look to the sky no more
Have mercy on me

50 cent wrote those lyrics along with many other words of a less appropriate sort, but those words are stuck in my craw, words that I find myself uttering, ear worms that will not leave me in peace. It’s somewhat funny, I actually don’t listen to 50 cent, not my kind of music, but I hear him anyway and snatches of lyrics get trapped in my brain, words that resonate in my soul.

…Have mercy on my soul
Somewhere my heart turned cold…

Vox Day again, why do I read him, his brand of foolishness just breaks my heart, but there is a tale there, a method to this madness, to this misery I inflict upon myself.  So in his frustration, in his politics, in his disapproval of all and any Christian not aboard the Trump train, he says to men,

“Any decent, honest, self-respecting man would rather pledge his life to Satan, Cthulhu, or the Nameless Spirit of the Abyss than live life the way these mealy-mouthed, nominal Christians do. They don’t follow Jesus Christ and worship God, they follow public opinion and worship at the altar of social approval.”

I empathize, the lukewarm, the apathetic, those who seek social approval before the Lord’s approval, all such as these are like never ending lemon juice in the paper cut of my life, but let’s hold up here, shall we? While Satan or Cthulhu may feelz more appealing than following our Lord and Savior sometimes, no decent, honest, self respecting man would do any such thing! The very definition of what it means to be decent, self respecting, honest, comes from Jesus Christ Himself.

Gah, please hear your own words people, listen to what they really say about you! This is called idolatry, you are being asked to choose,  like a really bad ABC after school special.

When a man calling himself the Voice of God instructs people over and over again that a decent, honest, self-respecting man would rather pledge his life to Satan, than fail to get behind Trump, Houston we have a problem, we have a broken and wounded brother, we have a soldier down, we have one needing not sycophants, but somebody, anybody to speak the truth to him. It’s not about politics, it’s about faith, it’s about the Lord Jesus Christ so many claim to serve, it’s about the hundreds of thousands of people who hover around this nonsense pouring fuel on the fire, not daring to speak the blasted truth to one obscure and barely known, broken sci fi writer.

It’s not about a stupid election, it’s about the heart and soul of a nation, it’s a time of testing, of revealing  what lurks within the dark and moldy places of what ails us,  and it’s a time of reckoning, where we better get really, really  clear about Who we truly serve. If you think your options are Trump or Satan, you’re being played and there’s a price to be paid for that.

….Blood in my eye dog and I can’t see
I’m trying to be what I’m destined to be…..

